Countries, cultures, peoples, and customs
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2013
- Need to know what the priorities are for people living in Russia?
- Want to know what religions dominate Eastern Europe?
- Ever wonder how the new year is celebrated in Brazil?
- Find these answers and more with our resources for studying specific cultures of the world.
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures
This encyclopedia has articles on individual nations and cultures, describing the cultures both past and present.
- Worldmark Encyclopedias of Cultures and Daily Life
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.
- Countries and Their Cultures
Ebook encyclopedia that surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts.
- Humanities International
Search articles related to cultures of the world.
- Encyclopedia of Religion
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.
- Religious Celebrations
Presents a comprehensive survey of all the ways people celebrate religious life around the globe.
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries.
- Atlas of world cultures : a geographical guide to ethnographic literature
The ultimate resource for geographically locating the myriad of cultures described in ethnographic literature... a set of forty-one maps that physically locate for the researcher more than 3500 groups, tribes or peoples.
- Readings in world literature.
English translations of poems, short stories, etc. from around the world.